COAT | Council of Australasian Tribunals
About COAT




COAT was established at a meeting of Commonwealth, State, Territory and New Zealand heads on 6 June 2002. The following are the current appointed officeholders to the COAT Executive:

  • Chair: The Honourable Justice Duncan Kerr Chev LH, President, Administrative Appeals Tribunal (TAS)
  • Deputy Chair: Ms Anne Britton, Principal Member, NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal (NSW)
  • Secretary: Ms Kath McEvoy, Associate Professor, Adelaide University (SA)
  • Treasurer: The Hon. Justice David Thomas, President QCAT (QLD)
  • Public Officer: Belinda Cassidy, Principal Claims Assessor, Motor Accidents Assessment Service (NSW)

Members of Executive:

Mr David Plunkett
Chair, Legal Aid Tribunal (NZ)

Mr Greg Geason 
Chairman, Resource Management & Planning Appeal Tribunal (TAS)

Mr Graeme Neate AM
President ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal (ACT)

Mr Malcolm Schyvens
Deputy President and Division Head for the Guardianship Division NCAT (NSW)

Ms Genevieve Nihill
Deputy President, VCAT (VIC)

Mr Richard Bruxner
President, Northern Territory Civil and Aministrative Tribunal (NT) 
Mr Garry Rutherford
Arbitrator, Workcover WA (WA)